Skip to Main Content

Clubs & Co-Curriculars

Welcome to Clubs & Co-Curricular Programs at Linn-Benton Community College:  we’re all that—and a bag of chips!  We like to have fun around here, and we offer many ways to do that while becoming more involved in campus life and making new friends.

**NEW:  Scroll down to the bottom of the page to request information on any of LBCC's clubs and co-curriculars!

CLUBS

From Ultimate Frisbee to psychology to poetry, dance or drama, LBCC has a club for you.  Check out the list of current clubs below--if nothing grabs you, consider starting your own.  All you need is an idea, an advisor and eight club members—we’re here to guide you through the process.  Active clubs receive $100 in Club Reserve Funds at the beginning of each academic year and hold a variety of fundraisers and other events throughout the year.  A Club Expo is held at the beginning of Fall and Winter terms in which members showcase their clubs’ offerings and provide information about meeting times and places.  Some clubs also choose to host a Courtyard Lunch in October or May to promote their organization and raise money.  LBCC's annual College Night is also a great venue in which to participate.

COUNCIL OF CLUBS

LBCC's Council of Clubs makes it possible for clubs to pool resources, work together on common issues, share ideas and sponsor joint events that benefit all clubs.  The more clubs that participate in bi-weekly Council meetings, the greater the value.  The Council of Clubs meets from 1-2 p.m. every other Wednesday in IA232, upstairs on the north side of the courtyard.  For more information, contact Student Outreach Director Jordan Hagle at slcoutreach@linnbenton.edu or Student Life & Leadership Program Assistant Heather Morijah at morijah@linnbenton.edu.  You may also call 541.917.4465 or stop by the SL&L office, downstairs east side of the courtyard.  You can find the latest meeting minutes here.


2013-14 ACTIVE CLUBS

AAUW Student Club

Advancing equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy, and research.
Advisor: Ann Buchele, 541.917.4932  buchela@linnbenton.edu 

Active Minds Club

Mental health awareness, education and advocacy.
Advisor: Greg Jones, 541.917.4549  jonesg@linnbenton.edu  

Ag Leadership Club

Advisor: Clayton Weber, 541.917.4768  weberc@linnbenton.edu

ALP Club

Students helping students with writing.
Advisor: Chris Riseley, 541.917.4573  riselec@linnbenton.edu

ASCET (American Society of Certified Engineering Techs)

The only national professional society created especially for, and administered by, engineering technicians and technologists in all engineering disciplines.
Advisor: Ric Costin, 541.917.4773  costinr@linnbenton.edu

Associated Veteran Community

Veterans helping veterans and their families.
Advisor: Lewis Franklin, 541.917.4542  frankll@linnbenton.edu

Black Curtain Society (Drama Club)

Advisor: Dan Stone, 541.917.4566  stoned@linnbenton.edu

Campus Ambassadors Christian Community (formerly The Gathering)

Gathering people of faith; encouraging one another to live a culture of love and faith.
Advisor: David Becker, 541.917.4370  beckerd@linnbenton.edu

Card Gamer's Club

Have fun without wasting electricity!
Advisors:
David Becker, 541.917.4370  beckerd@linnbenton.edu
Barb Horn, 541.917.4459  hornb@linnbenton.edu

Comedy Syndicate

A safe place to practice and hone your improv skills.
Advisor: Dan Stone, 541. 917.4566  dan.stone@linnbenton.edu

CPU (Computer People Unite) Club

Encouraging students to learn about and pratice using computers for personal, school and business purposes.
Advisor: David Becker, 541.917.4370  beckerd@linnbenton.edu

Dance Club

Providing an opportunity to be involved with dance in a creative and fun way.  Learning, performance, choreography.
Advisor: Liz Pearce, 541.917.4904  pearcel@linnbenton.edu

Democracy in Action

Promoting political awareness and activism, locally and nationally.
Advisor: Dr. Robert Harrison, 541.917.4571  harrisr@linnbenton.edu

FM Radio Club

Want to establish a student community-based radio station on campus? Learn the business, actions and daily functions of a broadcast radio station.
Advisor: Bill Thomas, 541.917.4655  bill.thomas@linnbenton.edu

Gender & Sexuality Alliance (formerly Gay Straight Alliance)

Strength in diversity. Friendship and support among the LGBTQ community and our straight allies.
Advisor: Tim Black, 541.917.4557  blackt@linnbenton.edu

Geology Club

Understanding the world around us by using geosciences in a real world setting.
Advisor: Deron Carter, 541.917.4745  carterd@linnbenton.edu

Global Connections

Enjoy activities and fellowship with international students: let's learn from each other!
Advisor: Kim Sullivan, 541.917.4817  sullivk@linnbenton.edu

Horticulture Club

All things green and growing.
Advisor: Stefan Seiter, 541.917.4765  seiters@linnbenton.edu

Linn-Benton Legends

Play League of Legends and other E-sports.
Advisor: Brian Reed, 541.917.4368  reedb@linnbenton.edu

Near-Space Exploration Club

Promoting education in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics) with studies and projects in earth's atmosphere, particularly High-Altitude Balloon Science
Advisor: Parker Swanson, 541.917.4274  swansop@linnbenton.edu

Open Source Club

Promoting open source information technology and educational software.
Advisor: Chris Riseley, 541.917.4573  riselec@linnbenton.edu

Philosophy Club

Furthering understanding of philosophical ideas, and encouraging questioning, discussion and critical thinking.
Advisors:
Marta Kunecka, 541.917.4878  kuneckm@linnbenton.edu
Scott McAleer, 541.917.4578  mcalees@linnbenton.edu

Poetry Club

Creating a community of voices; a chance to belong and have your personal voice heard.
Advisor: Robin Havenick, 541.917.4574  havenir@linnbenton.edu

Rad Tech Club

Promoting the field of Radiologic Technology. Providing information and support for new and current students, and encouraging the sharing of ideas and experiences.
Advisor: Paula Merino, 541.936.0454  merinop@linnbenton.edu

Sperical Cow (Science Club)

Advisor: Greg Mulder, 541.917.4744  mulderg@linnbenton.edu

Students For Life

Seeking to promote respect for life at LBCC and in the surrounding community, educating on life issues, and helping those in need so life is a promising choice.
Advisor: Vikki Maurer, 541.917.4370  maurerv@linnbenton.edu

Swing Dance Club

You know you want to! Learn from experienced swing dancers, and have a ton of fun with us.
Advisor: Carol McKiel, 541.917.4208  mckielc@linnbenton.edu

Ultimate Frisbee Club (Fighting Sheep)

LBCC has a 9-hole disc golf course--join us for a round!
Advisor: Greg Mulder, 541.917.4744  mulderg@linnbenton.edu

Visual Arts Club

Student artists and graphic designers building a community of interaction to connect students with similar interests.
Advisor: Frossene King, frossene.king@linnbenton.edu

Voyager Club

Providing educational and exciting U.S. and international travel opportunities for students.
Advisors:
Dr. Robert Harrison, 541.917.4571  harrisr@linnbenton.edu
Barb Horn, 541.917.4459 hornb@linnbenton.edu

Writing Group

A venue for accomplished fiction writers in which to advance their skills, receive constructive criticism and showcase their work.
Advisor: Terrance Millet, 541.917.4555  milletl@linnbenton.edu 


CO-CURRICULAR PROGRAMS

Co-Curricular Programs are a little different than clubs.  They’re closely tied to various academic programs at LBCC and provide both a learning experience and camaraderie among students who share similar academic interests.   Co-Curriculars allow students to become more deeply involved in their education by offering hands-on opportunities for learning, performance, competition and travel.  If you’re interested in these courses of study or a particular Co-Curricular Program, ask your advisor how you can get involved.

2013-14 CO-CURRICULAR PROGRAMS

Campus Recreation

Advisor: Leslie Hammond, 541.917.4911 hammonl@linnbenton.edu

The Commuter (student newspaper)

Advisor: Rob Priewe, 541.917.4563  priewer@linnbenton.edu  

Culinary Arts

Advisor: Todd Ketterman, 541.917.4387 kettert@linnbenton.edu

Diversity Achievement Center

Advisor: Javier Cervantes, 541.917.4299  cervanj@linnbenton.edu

Equestrian Team

Advisor: Jenny Strooband, 541.917.4767  stroobj@linnbenton.edu  

ITS Auto Tech

Advisor: R.J. Ehlers, 541.917.4682 ehlersr@linnbenton.edu 

ITS Heavy Equipment

Advisor: John Alvin, 541.917.4943  alvinjo@linnbenton.edu

ITS Manufacturing Tech

Advisor: John Niedermann, 541.917.4600  niederj@linnbenton.edu

ITS Welding Technology

Advisors:  Fred Stuewe, 541.917.4581  stuewef@linnbenton.edu
Dave Ketler, 541.917.4592  ketlerd@linnbenton.edu

Livestock Judging

Advisors: Clay Weber, 541.917.4768  weberc@linnbenton.edu
Rick Klampe, 541.917.4771  klamper@linnbenton.edu 

Peace Studies

Advisor: Scott McAleer, 541.917.4578  mcalees@linnbenton.edu   

Performing Arts

Advisor: Dan Stone, 541.917.4566  stoned@linnbenton.edu

Phi Theta Kappa (Honor Society - see below)

Advisors: David Becker, 541.917.4264  beckerd@linnbenton.edu
Ginger Peterson, 541.917.4925  petersg@linnbenton.edu

ROV (Remotely Operated Vehicle)

Advisor: Greg Mulder, 541.917.4744  mulderg@linnbenton.edu

Vocal Music

Advisor: James Reddan, 541.917.4550  reddanj@linnbenton.edu


Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society of two-year colleges and universities.  PTK provides opportunities for scholarships, intellectual enrichment and personal development.  Membership is open to any current LBCC student:

  • enrolled in at least one credit

  • with a minimum 3.5 GPA

  • who has completed at least 12 credits towards an associate degree at LBCC.

Check out PTK's Facebook page!


Click here button

to request information on specific clubs or co-curriculars!